National Gallery Visit 6.5.16

What did I discover on my visit this time?

Bernardino Fungai’s ‘The Virgin and Child with Cherubin’, 1495-1510

https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/bernardino-fungai-the-virgin-and-child-with-cherubim

This reminded me of the interest I have in the depiction of textiles in art.  The fabric in this painting looks contemporary and fresh.  I am reminded of the work of Amy Cutler  and *need to remember to research her techniques and presentation of fabrics further.

There were also two paintings about Salome:-

https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/cesare-da-sesto-salome

and

https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/giampietrino-salome

They both had a wonderful macabre atmosphere to them and I was particularly drawn to the intensely black backgrounds in them both.  Why? It forced me to be completely emersed with the foreground – there was no escape from the severed head being offered to the woman, Salome. It is harsh and beautiful in equal measure and I particularly enjoy the pale skin of the woman, suggesting purity despite having requested the head be brought to her.  I also enjoy the different artist’s interpretation of Salome – Da Sesto showing distress and aversion to facing the head, and Giampietrino’s demonstrating a look of triumph.  Exciting paintings considering they are 500 years old.

The final painting that caught my eye was:-

https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/paintings/norbert-goeneutte-the-boulevard-de-clichy-under-snow

The depiction of the snow in this painting is stunning – there is an iridescent quality to the snow, the large expanse of white acting as a beautiful negative space against the rest of the image, balancing the opposing black/grey tones of the people and buildings.  The delicate colours used also put me in mind of the printmaking work of Ellen Heck.  Her series ‘Forty Fridas’  http://ellenheck.com/forty-fridas/ has the subtle beauty in the palette used that I also see echoes of in this painting by Goeneutte.  *Idea to take this delicate palette and experiment with it in my own work – to take time to consider seems to me to go hand in hand with these types of colours.  I hope it will slow me down and help me improve my delicacy in mark making.

Leave a Reply

