Exercise 2.4 [UNFINISHED – POSTED FOR TUTORIAL – TO BE COMPLETED]

To continue my re-learning with my painting I have approached this exercise using my left hand only.  This time I did look at the page, however, I tried to keep the brushes large to avoid the need for limited mark making.

Piece 1:-

tone1

Piece 2:-

tone2

I am interested that something rather animalistic is coming through with my painting of these Angela Johnson’s – is using my left hand connecting me to a different mental pathway as I interpret the images?

The second piece above puts me in mind of the final paragraph of “The Tiger’s Bridge”, one of the short stories in Carter M. (1979) The Bloody Chamber: The Random House Group, London. It is as follows:-

And each stroke of his tongue ripped off skin after successive skin, all the skins of a life in the world, and left behind a nascent patina of shining hairs.  My earrings turned back to water and trickled down my shoulders; I shrugged the drops off my beautiful fur.

There is something suggesting transformation in the way I have used the paint – there is very much a freedom to painting with my left hand as I have not yet established any habits with this approach.  I am finding it very liberating and definitely something I need to take further – but how to do so without creating traps of refinement for myself?

The third painting is probably the most satisfying in outcome.

Piece 3:

tone3

Having completed these first three I realise that working in monotone or a limited colour palette is something that enables me to fully explore this new mode of painting, rather than having to also grapple with colour.

 

Leave a Reply

