Research – Steve Moberly, Sarah Dwyer, Karl Bielik

Steve Moberly

Really interesting, vibrant colour palette.  Translucent paint juxtaposed with denser paint, or heavily patterned areas alongside looser more abstract sections.  The work feels dense, complex, and multi-layered.  It’s not the subject matter that interests me as it feels to disturbing – but the different styles of painting, colour palettes and techniques within each painting.

Sarah Dwyer

I am interested in these because of the abstraction and the way the line, form and colour all combine together.  Again, there are layers, a hidden element to the work.  Areas of block colour that mask what lies beneath. Areas of bright colour take the eye around the canvas and a lovely balance of different strengths and types of mark making.

Potrero

Dwyer describes her work:-

My process of conceiving an image is rooted in the line, and always retains the impulsive nature of drawing“.  John Moores Painting Prize 2016: National Museums Liverpool

This feels a crucial connection to retain within my own practice – an abstraction of colour that is somehow tied together with line.

Karl Bielik

It is the celebration of colour and form that I respond to in Bielik’s work.  He describes his process as follows:-

Working on a multitude of paintings and drawings at a time, my brew of abstractions are developed in batches.  Irregular canvases cover the studio walls and floors, and I shift from one painting to another, experimenting playfully with mark making“.  John Moores Painting Prize 2016 catalogue: National Museums Liverpool

Studying Bielik’s use of colour and line is something that I feel will help broaden my interpretation of the human form.  His method of working is also one I feel will help me – I have been asked by both tutors to slow down, to take time away from my work and this appears a good solution.

 

Please refer to my research sketchbook for further research and investigation into experimentation with painting methods.

 

Leave a Reply

