Assignment 3 – Criteria Review

Demonstration of visual skills: Materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skills

This module has been about refinement of my methods and processes within the context of printmaking. I have taken much more time to consider the materials I am using and what techniques I can utilise to create specific results. I have demonstrated my visual awareness and observational skills through my self-reflective process during this module – I have constantly questioned my outcomes, thinking through what has and hasn’t worked and have tried to take the successes forward, constantly experimenting throughout. My compositional skills were also clearly demonstrated at the outset of the module in the way I set about creating the images to work from.

Quality of outcome: content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas

There is a clear progression throughout this module of my development of ideas and processes – each exercise sees an improvement and building on from the previous one. The Assignment pieces show the consolidation of what I have learnt during the module and, whilst they could again be developed further, they have also reached an appropriate point of conclusion. I have also taken time to contemplate how to communicate my ideas, from my choices of colour through to my contemplation of negative space and what that can bring to my images.

Demonstration of creativity: Imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice

This module in some ways is a rejection of the line of enquiry I was pursuing in Part 2. I have taken further ownership of my personal voice and have made a clear decision about what my focus and intentions are behind my artistic message. The use of filming to create the stills to work from for this module demonstrates further my imaginative and experimental connection with the work that has been set – I attempt to push myself to be as contemporary as possible within the confines of the exercises and to see them as part of my artistic practice rather than a vehicle to get to it.

Context: Reflection, research, critical thinking (learning logs and essay)

My research and reflection are far more specific in this module – I have attempted to focus on relating everything back to my own practice. I have spent much more time analysing and thinking through other artist’s methods as much as their content. Despite having rejected the specific research and pointers from my tutor from my last assignment, I have attempted to create similar aims within my new line of enquiry in my practice. I feel unable to revisit any of the tutor-set work relating to assignment 2 because I am so strongly uncomfortable with the nature of the project. I have not discarded it fully, I am just unable to respond to it at this point in my artistic development but hope to do so some time in the future.

Leave a Reply

