Transition Gallery, Jan 2017 ‘The Dark Wood’

transitionthedarkwood transtion1

I hadn’t been to Transition Gallery before and had been really keen to see the space – I have a great respect and interest in everything that Cathy Lomax is involved with so I had a feeling it was going to be something extraordinary.

It was another gallery in an unusual location, it felt edgy and also vital.   The exhibition, ‘The Dark Wood’ was exceptional.  I was captivated and in awe.

The work was exciting and contemporary, there was a tension between the pieces as well as within themselves individually.  The variety worked really well and every piece held my attention completely. It was a space where I could indulge in connecting with each piece of art fully for as long as I needed to.  I was interested in many things, the skill involved (particularly in Johnny Höglund’s ‘Time Capsule’), the variety of painting styles, the different colour palette’s represented in that one small room.  But the thing that struck me the most was the energy.  Each piece of work was potent..it was thrilling to experience this kind of presentation of work, to experience the exhibition bodily and energetically as well as visually and intellectually.

It was also the first time I had seen Dean Melbourne’s work in person – and I feel as though it has changed my creative path again and informed me about something deep within my own personal practice.  Captivated is probably the nearest word I can use to describe how I felt in the gallery but it falls far short in really describing what the visit was like.  I can’t wait to go back.

Leave a Reply

